There are several types of drunk driving charges in Michigan. One that is surprising to most is OWVI or Operating While Visibly Impaired.
OWVI is a misdemeanor drunk driving charge where your blood alcohol level or BAC is at least .02, but less than .08. It sounds odd, but yes, you can get a drunk driving charge in Michigan for having a BAC below .08. The idea is that the alcohol has impaired your ability to drive safely.
A First Offense Operating While Visibly Impaired charge carries:
- Maximum 93 days jail sentence
- Up to two year probation
- Alcohol and drug testings while on probation
- Fines up to $300
- Up 360 community service hours
- Court courts which vary from court to court, but can be very expensive
- 90 days restricted drivers license through the SOS
- Possible vehicle immobilization
- Four points on your Michigan Drivers License
- Drivers responsibility fees for two years through the SOS. $500 per year
Here is the Michigan Complied Law on Operating While Visibly Impaired: click here.
If you are charged with a second or third offense OWVI, OWI, High BAC, or any drunk driving combination within 7 years, then there are enhanced penalties in Michigan which can include mandatory license suspension, revocation, and jail. I can discuss with you how a second or third offense will impact your life.
If you are charged with any drunk driving offenses in Michigan, whether that is a Minor BAC, OWVI, OWI, DUI, OUIL, High BAC, or Super Drunk Driving, then call me for an experienced drunk driving defense lawyer. I practice in Ann Arbor, Saline, Milan, Ypsilanti, Dexter, Chelsea, Manchester, Jackson, Howell, Fowlerville, Brighton, Plymouth, Northville, Belleville, and the surrounding Washtenaw, Wayne, Jackson, Livingston, Lenawee Counties.